2017 MID-YEAR FREAK OUT book tag

I did this tag last year (link), and I thought it was a really nice way to talk about the books I’ve read so far. The tag has also weirdly enough gotten extremely many views lately, so here’s an updated version for you all.

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2017.

The Hate U Give is without a doubt a favorite. It was moving and has left such a big impact on me, and even though I did expect it to carry an extremely important message I didn’t expect to love is as much as I did. I highly, highly, higly recommend it!

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2017.

There’s no doubt that is Crooked Kingdom. Six of Crows and not only did CK top that it also concluded the duology so well. Definitly the best book of the year (I know I said it was THUG, but I can’t talk about Crooked Kingdom in every question, you know.)

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.

I really anticipated the release of Lord of Shadows and A Court of Wings and Ruin and now I’m not even close to picking them up. I am just not in the mood for it right now, I will (probably) get there at some point.

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.

Wonder Woman: Warbringer!! Leigh Bardugo is a new favorite author so I have no doubt she has done an amazing job with it – aaaand a female superhero??? Yes please!

5. Biggest disappointment.

Illuminae is so hyped, but the format really ruined it for me. I even DNF’ed, and if you want any further explanation you can read my review here.

6. Biggest surprise.

I picked It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover up expecting a cute and happy romance story. That wasn’t what I got at all. First of all I very passionately hated it. Second of all it deals with an abusive relationship. I wrote a whole discussion about the book (link here), because as mentioned I did really hate it, but it also really affected me and changed the way I think about abusive relationships. I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone though, but it carries a very important message.

7. Favourite new author (debut or new to you).

I read More Happy Than Not and really liked it (review here), and I am just about to pick up History is All You Left. I will blindly buy everything Adam Silvera publishes from now on. I mean They Both Die at the End sounds SO cool (and sad, but what else did we expect from a Adam book).

8. Newest fictional crush.

I feel like I’m crushing on ships/couples and not on anyone I want for myself??? Idk, but Jesper and Wylan are like <33

9. Newest favourite character.

Kaz. Always Kaz. Kaz is amazing. There’s not much to say here.

10. Book that made you cry.

I cried to Crooked Kingdom in the end, all my small babies were just being extremely cute which made me very very happy and very very teary.<3

11. Book that made you happy

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is just pure joy. PURE JOY. Read IT. (review here.)

What is your favorite book of the year? I’d like the recommendations!

Fiona
instagram // goodreads // twitter // mytrendingstories

5 thoughts on “2017 MID-YEAR FREAK OUT book tag

Leave a Reply

