HOW I STARTED BLOGGING

I have been a little absent from my blog for almost all of 2016 (at least I have felt out of touch with it), so I decided I wanted to tell you guys how and why I started my blog. Hopefully it can also remind me of all the joy blogging has given me — and gives me!! — because it truly does give me a lot.

So, I started my blog in the end of March in 2016 (so I recently had my one year anniversary, yay), but to tell you how it started we have to go way back, since I was part and aware of the online book community long before that. In the summer 2015 I discovered booktube. I had a long period where I didn’t read very much. Or I did read like maybe one book a month, and I did consider myself a big reader, but it didn’t contain as much of my everyday life as it does now. I remember asking almost everyone ‘What are you favorite books?? Can you recommend me anything?’, because I really felt like I had read the whole world. Or at least everything interesting. That was until I discovered booktube.

Booktube quickly made me discover how wrong I had been, and how many great books there were out there. I started reading more and more, and for the first time I begun to care about owning the books I read. I got extremely excited about reading all these new books no-one knew here in Denmark. In December I read around 7-8 books, and I felt so cool. My mind raced around reading 24/7 and I watched a million booktube videos. I often thought about joining as well, but I felt too awkward and insecure about my english accent to really start Youtube.

I don’t remember how I exactly got the idea, but after reading those 8 books in a month I decided to start my bookstagram account. I had no idea how big of a community it already was and how great of an impact it would bring on my life. I posted daily there (and still do), and kept watching a lot of Youtube meanwhile. I did often feel like I  had more to tell, than the IG captions allowed, but I did not think further about it. In the beginning I also wrote reviews on my Instagram, but I just never felt like it worked very well and quickly stopped. I was so aware of Youtube, but I never read blogs and it didn’t feel like an obvious option to start that.

Skærmbillede 2017-05-15 kl. 17.58.04.png

My first Instagram picture ever.

I am now really embarrassed to tell you what finally made me start my blog. I have seriously never told anyone this, because the reason changed almost the minute I started, but yeah here we go.

As I slowly grew bigger on my bookstagram, I started discovering all these Danes who were getting books from different publishers (see where this is going?). I looked at them, and they all had the same following as me on Instagram, so I thought it must be the blog part that I was missing (it was probably also about the fact that I hadn’t contacted anyone, but oh well). So I started my blog, because hey I wanted free books!

magjourn-15.gif

I began on March 26th 2016 (you can see link to my first post here, it is very, very brilliant). I spent some time researching around about getting review copies and so on in the beginning, but it quickly stood clear that I only could run a blog if I really wanted to write. And I did (can you tell how much I am trying to convince you, that I am not doing this book money anymore??).

Having this blog has made me realize just how much I love to write. I love to talk with others about reading, and it had also made me realize how much I love to discuss different issues in general. One of my biggest wishes is that I get better at writing all the discussions that swirl around my head non-stop.

That first Spring I only posted a little bit, but I did not start for real until June. I had a few exams that month, but nothing to do besides that so I went all in and posted in total 17 posts. It was also the month I hit 100 followers, and I was so proud. I felt passionate, and I loved what I was doing.

If someone asks me now about starting a blog I will always say, “Do it if you think it would be fun.” I would never tell anyone to do it for free stuff, money or anything like that, but I needed that extra push, I guess. Even though it was stupid I am glad it made me start, because I love being here.

This turned into a longer story than I originally  had expected, so I’m impressed if you stuck through. I would love to hear (maybe a shorter version) what made you start blogging, and if you have any wishes for posts in the future always let me know!

2 thoughts on “HOW I STARTED BLOGGING

  1. coffeelovingbookoholic says:

    thanks so much for this post. while reading it, i thought about, why i started my blog. it was probably a decision done in a minute. i have a lot of friends, i can talk to about books. but sometimes you read stuff that nobody else reads and maybe you have something to say about that. so i wanted a place, where i can do that. i usually don’t like writing goodreads reviews and i even don’t know why. because most of the time i have to say so much more about a book. so here i am 😀
    also, i need to check out your bookstagram account, i love bookstagram ❤

    Like

  2. spottedwolfblog says:

    Hi, my name is David but everybody on my facebook friends list just calls me ‘spottedwolf’!.. I started writing thinking maybe one day a publisher might read it and who knows!!…Anyways, I was wondering if you read all 9 chapters, watcha think?…I’m still trying to figure this wordpress out, like how do I get my picture to come up on my blog?.. Ya know, things are just so much easier on my ‘Blogger’ account!.. Anyway, thanks again for reading my post!!..

    Like

Leave a Reply

