NEW YEARS BOOKISH RESOLUTIONS

It is 2017. New year, new me or something like that. I have some goals I want to put for this year, but first let’s quickly talk about 2016.

In 2016 I set my reading challenge to 52 and then later bumped it up to 75. I exactly reached that goal, and I am very happy about that fact. I, however, recently made a post about the pros and cons of having a reading challenge (link), and I have therefore this year decided to put my goal on 52 books again. My ultimate goal this year is that I want my relationship with reading to become more relaxed. I often read because it is relaxing, but I also way too often do it because it feels like a duty, and that is exactly why I don’t aim to read 75 books again this year, but only 52.

This year, however, I have some further goals involving the content of what I read.

First of all I want to get better at reading different genres. I have a tendency to prioritize the popular YA books, and then end up not getting to some of the books I really want to read as well. I want to change that this year. A long with that I also have the goal to read at least 8 classics (hopefully more!), and at least books 2 by Jane Austen.

I have been bad at rereading this last year (again going back to the point about popular YA books), and when I finally provided time to do it I enjoyed it so much. I therefore want to reread a lot more this next year.

I also want to be more aware of the amount of books I buy/request. I don’t want to set a firm rule, but as a basis I want to read more books every month than I buy/receive.

Lastly I want to share a small list of some of the books I definitely want to read this next year.

1. The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater

I read the first book in the series last year at absolutely loved it. It is also my friend Tilda’s, from Tildareads, all time favorite series – even more reason to read it!

2. All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

One of the genres I want to read a lot more of this year is historical fiction, and this book is on the top of my TBR. Besides that I also really want to read The Hidden Figures, Salt to the Sea, Between Shades of Grey, Wold by Wolf and The Nightingale, but I probably won’t get to them all.

3. Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur

I also want to start reading some poetry this year, which I have never done outside of school. I have been hearing so many great things about this one, so I hope it will be a good introduction to the genre.

4. Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

I finished Six of Crows four days into the year, and I really want to complete the duo logy this year (it’s good so there is no doubt I will).

5. A Game of Thrones by George R. R. Martin

I have the whole series standing on my shelf, and this just has to be the year I finally start it. They are all so huge, and I am so intimidated by them, but 2017 just has to be the year!

I have a ton of more books I want to read, but these are just the ones I have on the top of my list. What are your goals for this upcoming year? I feel hesitant making too strict and many goals, because I don’t think I will keep them then.

// instagram // goodreads // twitter // mytrendingstories //

2 thoughts on “NEW YEARS BOOKISH RESOLUTIONS

  1. bookishsmaug says:

    I also want to explore more genres than the ones I usually pick up. I hope you like Milk and Honey! It’s amazing, and that says something since I’m not a fan of poetry. I also hope to read the Six of Crows duology!

    Like

Leave a Reply

