UNDERRATED BOOK: THE LUCKY HAT MINE BY J. V. L. Bell

Skærmbillede 2016-12-31 kl. 19.17.13.png“The Lucky Hat Mine” by J. V. L. Bell, published by Hansen Publishing Group in 2016, 4.5/5 stars– thanks to the author for providing me with an audiobook of this – you can buy it here.

The Lucky Hat Mine is a light historical mystery set in the Colorado territory in 1863. If you aren’t sold by that description alone I honestly don’t know what’s wong with you. Like that sounds so awesome. But if you aren’t yet, don’t worry. This book has so much more to offer than that.

This taking place in the 1800’s the society is a very different place than it is today (obviously). Women and black people are oppressed which this book deals with. Our protagonist, Millie, is the most badass women ever. Not in an assassin kind of way but she is stubborn and firm in the best way. She is independent and won’t let any of the (many, many) men who try tell her what to do.

The romance in this book is one of those wonderful slow burning ones. It is one of those where the protagonist starts out by disliking the love interest, and while she slowly starts to like him more and more she keeps being just as strict towards him. He is, however, charming and way out of line all the time. And with her firm way of looking at the world she always corrects him. Their dynamic was the best part of the book, and I loved it so much. Sure there is a mystery, but this is definitely a more character based book (which is my favorite kind of book).

I listened to this on audiobook, and I think that is the best way to read it. Nancy Wu, the narrator, did an absolutely amazing job with the narration, and it is by far the best audiobook I have ever listened to. She did a lot of different voices for all the characters, but best of all was the constant southern accent, which I am such a sucker for.

This book came out of nowhere into my mailbox, and I am pretty sure it will stay with me forever (at least for a very, very long time). I read it about a month ago (I’ve just been really bad at blogging this month, I know), and just talking about it again makes me want to reread it so badly. This book is a truly amazing book and more people need to realize that. So go check it out everyone, and listen to it on audio (more reasons that audiobooks are great can be found here). 4.5/5 stars.

instagram // goodreads // twitter // mytrendingstories //

5 thoughts on “UNDERRATED BOOK: THE LUCKY HAT MINE BY J. V. L. Bell

Leave a Reply

