A MONSTER CALLS MOVIE REVIEW


Skærmbillede 2016-11-28 kl. 15.18.45.png
“A Monster Calls”, directed by J. A. Bayona and written by Patrick Ness, comes out December 23 – thanks to the Danish publisher Gyldendal for inviting me to an early screening.

A Monster Calls is a book-to-movie adaptation, if you want to know what the story is about, and what I thought of the book I have a review here.

This is one of the best book to movie adaptations I have ever seen. I read most of the book the same day as I saw the movie, which made me see very clearly just how many, many quotes were taken directly from the book. It was so wonderful to see, and this is for sure one of the most accurate movie adaptations I have ever seen.

The book is filled with illustrations, which is such an important aspect of the story. Not only did all the visuals in the movie match the drawings from the book, the illustrations were also included through Conor. In the movie Conor draws all the time, and his drawings are very alike the ones from the book. It was so nice that it was included, and it also made us able to see some of Conor’s thoughts on the screen.

The actor all played really well, and I was very satisfied with how they portrayed the characters. The relationship between the Grandmother and Conor, and the development they went through was even more powerful for me on-screen. I felt like it was one of the most important things for Conor, which I didn’t felt as strongly, when reading the book.

It is a very emotional and heartbreaking story, and I felt that even stronger when I saw it unfold on the screen. It is one of the movies, I have cried the most to, and I was shaking and sobbing all the way through the credits.

I was invited to watch this film early, and after the movie Patrick Ness came and talked about it, which was so amazing. I would highly, highly recommend this movie to everyone, and it is coming out in the US on December 23 and in Denmark on December 8.

instagram // goodreads // twitter // mytrendingstories //

 

 

One thought on “A MONSTER CALLS MOVIE REVIEW

Leave a Reply

