IF I WAS YOUR GIRL a book review

26156987

If I Was Your Girl by Meredith Russo

Publisher: Flatiron Books

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

My rating: 5/5 stars

Summary

Amanda Hardy is the new girl in school in Lambertville, Tennessee. Like any other girl, all she wants is to make friends and fit in. But Amanda is keeping a secret. There’s a reason why she transferred schools for her senior year, and why she’s determined not to get too close to anyone.

And then she meets Grant Everett. Grant is unlike anyone she’s ever met—open, honest, kind—and Amanda can’t help but start to let him into her life. As they spend more time together, she finds herself yearning to share with Grant everything about herself…including her past. But she’s terrified that once she tells Grant the truth, he won’t be able to see past it.

Because the secret that Amanda’s been keeping? It’s that she used to be Andrew. (source)

REVIEW

I was currently reading another book, but as soon as I heard about this one I just needed it wide away. I quickly got my hands on a copy and I then just flew through it.

If I Was Your Girl is mostly known for representing a transgender protagonist. The author herself is transgender, and I found it very eye-opening to read about. I feel like I understand being transgender so much better now, which I now think is so important, and I am therefore very grateful for this book.

Amanda is an amazing protagonist. I related to her a whole lot, even though I might not share the same struggles with gender.

The story begins after is told after Amanda is finished with transformation, but still hasn’t tried to live fully as a girl yet. The story is about her founding love, romantically and friendly. Throughout the story we get some flashbacks to the time, when she struggled and when she got her operations and so on. I really liked that set up.

Amanda became part of the nicest group of girls, and I loved seeing their group dynamic. They were all very different girls, and each had such an important story to tell.

Her relationship with her dad had always been problematic due to her gender. He had a hard time understanding and accepting Amanda’s transformation and I loved seeing him beginning to accepting her and seeing their relationship develop throughout this book.

Then we have Grant. I love Grant, and I love their love story. I am using the verb ‘love’ way too many times in this review, but this book was just really great. They were so cute together, and the whole dilemma whether or not to tell him was so nerve-wracking.

This is a beautiful book about being transgender and so much more. It carries such an important message, and I hope that I will get to read many more books on this topic in the future. I loved it and you should all  read it!

xx,

Fiona

 

6 thoughts on “IF I WAS YOUR GIRL a book review

  1. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed this book! I’ve read it too and unfortunately didn’t love it – Grant and Amanda’s relationship felt very insta-lovey to me, and I also didn’t connect with Amanda all that much. It’s definitely an important book, though, and I appreciate what it adds to the genre as a whole. Have you read other similarly themed YA books?

    Like

Leave a Reply

