POPULAR BOOKS I FIND OVERHYPED PT. 2

Last month I did a post on 10 books I find overhyped (link here), and a lot of people had such a big interest in it, that I decided to come back with a part 2 this month. These books aren’t as popular as the ones in the last post, but they are still well-loved book, that I don’t really like. Again I will go from least popular to most.

Twilight by Stephanie Meyer – I was kind of iffy about putting this one on the list. It isn’t necessarily overhyped, but it still felt worth mentioning it. My relationship with Twilight is complicated, and I have a whole post on it here – but in the end I just really don’t like it.

The Vampire Diaries by L. J. Smith – I started watching the show many years ago now, and of course I wanted to read the book. This book is just really bad in my opinion. The writing, characters and plot is very badly done.

Evermore by Alyson Noel – This book is cheesy. I didn’t like the romance, which basically was the whole plot.

Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins – I read the whole trilogy in less than a week last year. I flew through them but I still found them extremely cliché. I didn’t like the protagonist that much and the plot didn’t interest me.

Matched by Ally Condie – I have a problem with dystopian novels. Almost every one of them I find cliché and uninteresting. This is one of them.

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld – The same as above. Another bad dystopian book I just really don’t like.

American Gods by Neil Gaiman – This is the worst book I’ve read this year. I didn’t like the protagonist and the plot was just too weird and felt extremely pointless. I have a problem with not DNF’ing books, but this one I definitely should have. It’s 640 pages, I still can’t believe I read the whole thing. It was my first Gaiman book and I am still not sure whether or not to read something else by him.

The Devil Wears Prada by Lauren Weisberg – I generally just didn’t like the plot. The book was way too long, when you spent the whole thing hearing about how miserable the protagonist was.

Ok, enough ranting. I’d love to hear if we share any unpopular opinions, or which book do you feel is overhyped?

xx,

Fiona

instagram // goodreads // twitter // mytrendingstories //

14 thoughts on “POPULAR BOOKS I FIND OVERHYPED PT. 2

  1. MyBookJacket says:

    Oh i now how you feel about American Gods. I read that first and DNFed it halfway. I only changed my mind about Gaiman after reading The Ocean At The End Of The Lane. Do give his other books a try, especially in graphic novel format.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Girl Who Reads says:

    Twilight, Devil wears Prada, both over hyped! I haven’t read the others, I even avoided The Vampire Diary books as loads of people said that they were over hyped!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

