GUIDE TO THE CONTEMPORARY GENRE

You want to get into reading but which books are good to start with? What fits your taste? Well, this is your lucky day! I have started a series of articles where introduce you guys to all the things that are good to know if you want to get into reading. I have a post on how to read more I have started the series out by introducing you to different genres and which books I think are good to start within each. These will all be books that I personally really love but I will show you very different books, so there’ll be something for everyone! The first article was about fantasy and today I am going to talk about contemporary.

 Contemporary is such a good genre, that I really enjoy reading. It has a lot to offer and can be a cute adorable love story or deal with difficult topics like mental illness. I will today introduce you to some of the different kinds contemporary books. I have put the books in order of the lightest read and end with the ones that deals with more serious topics.

 

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

My rating: 5/5 stars


This book follows our protagonist Anna, who has been forced by her father to go to boarding school in Paris. She is very mad about it but when she arrives to Paris she meets the charming guy St. Clair and falls head over heels for him. This book follows their love story evolve in the magical city, Paris. Paris is shown a lot in this book and I loved discovering it together with Anna.

This is for sure the cutest and easiest contemporary you can find and is especially a good place to start because it is such an easy read. I really loved this book and I highly recommend that you guys check it out!

// amazon // barnes and noble // book depository //

 

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

My rating: 5/5 stars


This book follows Emily during her summer vacation. Her best friend Sloane has went missing and has left Emily a to-do list for the summer. Emily is a very shy and quiet girl and she is used to stand in Sloane’s shadow —and prefers it that way. The to-do list contain things like ‘go skinny-dipping’ and ‘kiss a stranger’ and is generally a lot of things that will put Emily out of her comfort zone. This book follows Emily as she checks everything of the list and slowly develops toward a more confident person. Along the way she makes some new friends including a very cute boy.

 This is probably my favorite book on this whole list and I really think you should read it. It is a light read but it does have some more depth to it which I really liked. You can read more of my thoughts on the book in my review.

// amazon // barnes and noble // book depository //

 

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

 My rating: 4/5 stars


This book follows Eleanor and Park as they meet each other and their love develop. Eleanor is a big and clumsy girl with red hair and the wrong clothes. When she start at a new school she sits besides Park on the bus. Park is an introvert asian boy who loves music and comic books. They slowly start talking and sharing music/comic books. Besides this being a cute and slow love story where holding hands can make you sweat it also deals with a lot of family issues.

This book is a emotional read but it is a lot slower than the two books listed above.  Not slow in a bad way though, I was hooked on the story almost from the beginning. I have also read Attachments by Rainbow Rowell and I would also really recommend that one, but I do prefer Eleanor and Park and I think you should start out with it!

// amazon // barnes and noble // book depository //

 

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephe Chbosky

My rating: 4.5/5


This book follows Charlie who is a very shy and a little bit nerdy boy —a wallflower. He doesn’t have any friends when he starts his freshman year at high school but after some lonely weeks at school the siblings Sam and Charlie take him under their wings and they soon become his best friends.Through this book Charlie deals with bullies, and he experiments with drugs, drinking, first dates and sex.

Charlie has some supportive but very distant parents and in the book a terrible family secret is revealed, a secret that has affected Charlie a lot. 

This book is told in letter form. Charlie doesn’t have anyone to really talk with and therefore writes and sends letters them to a stranger — who never answers. Charlie develops a lot through this book which is very nice to watch. This book has also been adapted into a famous movie with Emma Watson as Sam. The movie is great but I think the book still has a lot to offer even though you may already have watched it.

If you find yourself enjoying this book I would recommend you to read The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger afterwards. Chbosky has found a lot of inspiration from Salinger’s book and the two books has the same feel to it. The Catcher in the Rye is, however, a much slower read and I don’t think you should start out by reading it.

// amazon // barnes and noble // book depository //

 

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

My rating: 5/5 stars

Louisa Clark is a happy twenty-six-year-old woman who lives with her parents. When she one day gets fired from her job at the local cafe, is she forced to find a new job and ends up as a caregiver for the rich young man Will Traynor. Will sits in a wheelchair after a motorcycle accident and has lost his desire to live, that is until Lou comes in to his life.

This is a sweet story that watches follows these two characters develop under each others company. It also deals a lot around Will’s sickness and how much he struggle to keep his will to stay alive. It was adapted into a movie about a month ago so you can go watch it after reading the book!

// amazon // barnes and noble // book depository //

 

That was all my contemporary recommendations for today! I hope you enjoyed and I will see you next time with some historical fiction recommendations.

xoxo,

Fiona

instagram // goodreads // twitter // mytrendingstories //

7 thoughts on “GUIDE TO THE CONTEMPORARY GENRE

  1. Darnell says:

    Great post. After reading a lot of fantasies I think I need to get back to reality with some contemporaries. I did read Elenor and Park, and Perks. Anna and the French Kiss has been on my TBR for a while now.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

