FEELING GUILTY WHEN NOT READING | discussion

I started watching booktube about a year ago and I myself joined the book community with my Instagram around new years eve. This has given me so many amazing friends and I have discovered so many great books through it. My reading habit has changed a lot. I am reading a lot more now, which I am mostly really happy about, but there are negative things connected with it too. I now feel like I need to be reading all the time. I have already reached my goal on Goodreads so that isn’t a problem for me, but the fact that everyone else seems to be reading all the time lays a certain pressure. People are constantly telling me to pick up this or that, and I feel pressured to read it all! I have discovered sooo many great books through this community, which I am forever thankful for but the pressure is always there.

tumblr_lvfh0yxore1qfggsro1_500

I think it is a good thing to take reading breaks. Before joining the book community online I had never heard the term ‘reading slump’ before. I sometimes took breaks from reading but it wasn’t something I consciously thought about or stressed out about. A reading slump is addressed as such a negative thing, but reading is a hobby and isn’t it ok to take a break from hobbies sometimes? You can’t always love what you’re doing. Sometimes taking a break can give you a lot of new energy when you return a couple of weeks or even months later. I am not only here to lecture you guys about it but also myself.  I am so bad at taking breaks and feeling good about it. I easily make way too ambitious TBR’s  and force myself to read every evening even though I might not be in the mood.

giphy-facebook_s

Last year I read a total of 28 books. I was very proud of achieving that, but now it feels like nothing. I have so far this year read 56 books and have therefore nearly tripled my reading. Most of the time I feel great about my new reading habits, but when I’m not in the reading mood I need to tell myself several times that it is perfectly ok and normal. The last two weeks I have only been reading a little bit, not as much as I normally do. A lot of other things has just been occupying my attention and I haven’t been in the mood. I am still in the process of telling and learning myself not to stress out about that, and just be happy about the breaks. What do you guys think? Are you good at taking small breaks sometimes? Do you also feel the constant pressure? I would love to know!

xoxo,

Fiona

instagram // goodreads // twitter // mytrendingstories //

8 thoughts on “FEELING GUILTY WHEN NOT READING | discussion

  1. acedimski says:

    I totally relate to this topic! I found booktube 3 years ago, 2 years ago I started bookstagram and 1 year ago I was so occupied with moving to another city, starting university I had no time to read at all. And first I thought that was perfectly fine, until I tried to come back to my bookstagram and start again. That’s when I realized how much I ‘ve missed during my absence. Now it’s stressing me out when I haven’t read for one day! It’s awful…. Somebody should change that!

    Like

  2. Janne Bjørgan says:

    I know how you feel, and I think what you do here is really important! By reflecting on this and asking youself what you want to do it gets a lot easier to accept that growing tbr-pile and all those books that “everyone” else are reading.

    No one should feel they are reading to little, and in my experience the bookstagram community is really accepting all readers. It’s just very easy to be impressed by those who read a lot and compare yourself to them, and then start thinking you have to read as much as them.

    In my opinion, the best thing is to keep the reading fun. The minute it feels forced or boring you’ve stretched it too far. And – no matter how much you read you will always, ALWAYS, miss something. That’s how life is. You miss out on some things, and that’s got to be ok. Sure, it can be frustrating to realize you’ve missed out on a discussion or a book – but 9 out of 10 times you’re not alone in being late to the party and it’ll work out if you want it to.

    Like

    • bookwormwholived says:

      Thank you, I really appreciate your comment!

      I too think that the book community is really kind, but there is a long list of popular books that are considered must reads, that I feel like everyone is always discussing and if you want to join the fun you need to have read those books.

      But I do agree with you, we are a really accepting community and I just need to change my relationship with reading, hah.

      Like

Leave a Reply

