THE RAVEN BOYS BY MAGGIE STIEFVATER | a book review

Cover_ravenboys_300


The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Publisher: Scholastic Press, 2012

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal

My rating: 5/5 stars

amazon // book depositoy

Summary

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue never sees them–until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks to her.

His name is Gansey, a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul whose emotions range from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She doesn’t believe in true love, and never thought this would be a problem. But as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore. (source)

REVIEW

The characters were by far the strongest aspect of this book. They were all so sweet and complex and I really felt attached to them all.

Blue, our protagonist, is such an adorable and intelligent girl. I loved all of the members of her family and all the craziness she was surrounded by. Blue is very good to take matters into hear own hands and help the people she cares about. I feel like she easily can be seen as a beautiful flower that easily can tip-over, but she really isn’t. She is really strong and I am looking so much forward to follow her in the next books.

Then we have Gansey. He is the most annoying person ever and probably also my favorite. He is full of really sarcastic and funny comments and he has eternal discussions with Blue which were so enjoyable to watch. He struggles to stand out and not be like his rich father and he always has good intentions even though his friends keep misunderstanding him.

Then we have Adam, Noah and Ronan. I really loved Adam but it was not until the ending that I realized truly just how much I cared about Noah. Ronan really annoyed me, but I do still really care about him and I really want to see him develop. This book generally makes you care so so much for everyone that it is nearly unbearable. I am so scared that anything is going to happen to any of them.

This book is very slow and mysterious in the beginning. It takes about half of the book before it really picks up, but it never bothered me due to the amazing characters. When the plot started to pick up everything just happened so unexpected. I did not see anything coming and I finished it very quickly after that.

The writing in this book is so beautiful, everything is formulated so nicely.

As you can see I basically do not have one bad thing to say about this book. I loved it, I give it 5 stars and you should all read it right now if you haven’t! I would love to hear your thoughts on this book if you have read it!

xoxo,

Fiona

instagram // goodreads // twitter // mytrendingstories //

 

6 thoughts on “THE RAVEN BOYS BY MAGGIE STIEFVATER | a book review

  1. Madeline @ The SFF Bookshelf says:

    The Raven Boys is, by far, one of my favourite books that I read this year. I agree with you, the beginning was initially quite slow, but it never bothered me once. I loved the fact that we got to see these characters and their relationships develop so naturally. They are, without a doubt, the best part of this book series. Wonderful review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

