THRONE OF GLASS BY SARAH J. MAAS | overhyped book

Throne_of_Glass_UK

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury, 2012

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Rating: 3/5 stars

book depository // amazon

Summary

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her … but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead … quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined. (source)

REVIEW

This is one of the most popular young adult books in the entire universe and so many people have already read and reviewed this, so why even bother do yet another review on it? Well, the fact is that I didn’t find it as amazing as everybody else and I feel the need to explain why that is.

Please don’t be offended, if you loved this book. I am going to talk about the things I disliked in this book so don’t keep on reading if you don’t want to hear them. Another thing to keep in mind is that I do love Maas’ other series A Court of Thorns and Roses and I definitely plan to continue on with this series.

The number one thing I want to say is that people describe this book as the complete opposite of what it actually is about. I don’t think the summary above describes this book well. For starters it for sure isn’t actionpacked. Yes, Celaena is a great assasin but this book is more about her loveinterests than her assain skills. This is a slowpaced book with the characters in the mainfocus. Even though I did like the characters it took me a while to get fully attached to them and before that happened I didn’t enjoy this book at all.

The world that Mass has created in this book seems to have a lot to offer but we don’t really get to explore it. We stay in the kings castle with Celaena while she’s taking part in a competition. The problem with this competition is that everyone from the start, including Celaena, agrees that she will win it. If we all know that she will win why bother hear about it? The amazing thing about reading The Hunger Games is that is seems impossible for Katniss to win but she does it anyway. Celaena does is, but everyone expected her to so it really isn’t interesting or fantastic.

Besides the competition going on some mysterious murders are happening. Now, this did get interesting in the end but at first it didn’t seem like a big deal. Celaena was totally calm about the whole thing, so that aspect of the plot didn’t really hook me before the end.

At the end we also have the  big villain reveal. I love when villain are revealed but this villain, to me, just felt too obvious. Like who did not see that one coming? I think everyone did.

While the plot was rather boring and didn’t really interest me I did enjoy the characters. Celaena is both so girly and kickbutt amazing at the same time. I wish we had got to see her more in action. The Dorian and Chaol were also really awesome and I really like them both. Between these three characters a love triangle appears and funnily enough is that actually the one thing I enjoyed most in this story. If love triangles are done well, I don’t mind them at all and this was for sure done well! It took me a really long time to pick between Chaol and Dorian, but now I have and if Chaol doesn’t end up with my Celaena I will be very mad!

As said above I have already read Maas’ other series and in this book she did the same thing as she did in A Court of Mist and Fury. The plot was in the background and the mainfocus were the characters. While I love ACOMAF it didn’t work for me in Throne of Glass. I did like the characters but it was boring that nothing else that interested me was going on.

For the last 100 pages (out of 400!) I did end up liking the story. I have very great hope for the rest of the series and I am really excited to pick up the next book!

Am I the only on who was dissapointed with Throne of Glass? Are the next books much better? I would love to know your thoughts!

xoxo,

Fiona

// instagram // goodreads // twitter //

19 thoughts on “THRONE OF GLASS BY SARAH J. MAAS | overhyped book

  1. readinglust says:

    I definitely agree with your points on Throne of Glass, the plot was nothing spectacular, and the final outcome was very obvious. However, this book works in setting up the world, and making the reader care about the characters in further books. I would definitely suggest reading the next book as it is much better, however, I disliked the third and the fourth book quite a bit. Nevertheless, Maas is definitely a talented writer, introducing quite a few new characters along the way, and whether you like or dislike certain storylines, there are plenty to keep you interested.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookwormwholived says:

      I am very glad to hear that someone shares the same opinion as I do! As I wrote in my review I will be continuing on with the series and I’m happy to hear it gets better. Although I hope I will like the third and fourth book as well… I really want to join the hype and be as excited for the fifth books release as everyone else

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Audrey says:

    We are the complete opposite lol I LOVED Throne of Glass and I can’t wait to read the other books but ACOTAR was meh for me and while I enjoyed the other aspects of ACOMAF, Feyre was just too infuriating, especially at the start.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Megcylreads says:

    I’m super excited to see what’s next! I’ve only read throne of glass but I think I like it okay. I followed your website and the book I’d like to win is totally gonna be either of thiese because I can’t choose 😂 : the love that split the world, splintered or the forbidden wish I can’t pick in a short time!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. pussy says:

    Howdy superb blog! Does running a blog like this take a lot of work?
    I have absolutely no expertise in coding however I had been hoping
    to start my own blog in the near future. Anyway,
    if you have any suggestions or tips for new blog owners please share.

    I know this is off subject but I simply had to ask. Many thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

