NOVEMBER RAIN (BAD BLOODS #1) | book review

Skærmbillede 2016-07-15 kl. 20.47.40

November Rain (Bad Bloods #1) by Shannon A. Thompson

Publisher: Clean Teen Publishing

Release date: July 18th 2016

Genre: Fantasy, Dystopia, Young Adult

Rating: 3.75/5 stars

barnes & noble // amazon

A big thanks to the author, Shannon A. Thompson, for sending me this book!

Summary

Seventeen-year-old Serena isn’t human. She is a bad blood, and in the city of Vendona, bad bloods are executed. In the last moments before she faces imminent death, a prison guard aids her escape and sparks a revolt. Back on the streets determined to destroy her kind, Serena is spared by a fellow bad blood named Daniel. His past tragedies are as equally mysterious as her connection to them.

Unbeknownst to the two, this connection is the key to winning the election for bad bloods’ rights to be seen as human again. But Serena is the only one who can secure Vendona’s vote. Now, Daniel must unite with her before all hope is lost and bad bloods are eradicated, even if it means exposing secrets worse than death itself. United or not, a city will fight, rain will fall, and all will be threatened by star-crossed love and political corruption. (source)

REVIEW

When I started this I had no idea what to expect. I had never read anything by Shannon before and I had only very briefly skimmed the premise of the book. I can now say that I came out of this book so pleasantly surprised. This story hooked me so fast and I really enjoyed it.

This book is set in the future in a dystopian world with some fantasy elements added to it. I often find a lot of the dystopia books I read cliche and boring, but that wasn’t the case with this book at all! I found the world Shannon has created so awesome to read about.

I had just finished reading Maus, a story about World War II, before starting this book and the way the society treated the bad bloods, people with special powers, in this book reminded me so much of the way the germans treated the jews. I dont know if Shannon found this as an inspiration, but it was a similarity I found rather nice.

November Rain is told in a dual perspective. Almost every chapter switches between our protagonists Daniel and Serena and I really enjoyed hearing about both of them.

Serena and Daniel meet a couple of times throughout the book and my favorite moments were definitely each time they met and interacted. They do develop some romantic feelings towards each other and at first I felt it was a little too sudden but then it turned out to develop quite slow and nicely.

Both Serena and Daniel lives with a huge group of kids, which mean this book has a huge cast of characters. They all were so sweet and adorable and I really came to love so many of them.

The huge cast of characters, however, was also a thing I found rather confusing. The groups Daniel and Serena lived in each consisted of over 10 members. You were introduced to them all. Each time the story switched perspective it therefore also switched group of children so I kept mixing the groups together and that confused me so many times. I wished we had been introduced to a fewer cast of characters, so we had time to hear more about them all. The characters Shannon has created are all so unique and I would have like more time to focus on them as individuals.

The writing was good and it flowed nicely and I overall really liked this book. The dystopian world with fantasy elements were so intriguing and I am already really attached to the characters. I’m so hooked on this story and I am excited to start November Snow as soon as I’m done writing this review. I definitely recommend this book!

xoxo,

Fiona

 instagram // goodreads // twitter //

 

7 thoughts on “NOVEMBER RAIN (BAD BLOODS #1) | book review

Leave a Reply

