HEADSCARVES AND HYMENS: WHY THE MIDDLE EAST NEEDS A SEXUAL REVOLUTION BY MONA ELTAHAWY | a book review

(danish version below)

Skærmbillede 2016-06-24 kl. 18.55.31.png

 

Headscarves and Hymens. Why the Middle East Needs a Sexual Revolution by Mona Eltahawy

Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, April 2015

Genre: Nonfiction, feminism, adult

Rating: 4/5 stars

bookdepository // amazon

 

REVIEW

When I first started this book, had I no idea what I was going into. I thought I knew that women in the Middle East doesn’t live under fantastic circumstances, but why did I need a whole book about that? It turned out that I really did need this book. I am so chocked over the stories in this book and it has left me with an enormous anger. I think that everyone needs to be more aware of the situation for women in the Middle East – a good start is to read this book! Eltahawy has done an amazing job with this book and I am so glad that I decided to read it.

This was my first nonfiction read in I can’t remember how long, and also the first adult book I’ve read in a little while. I was a little insecure on how much I would like this book, and it was a pretty heavy book to read but because of the length (200 pages) it was manageable – and it turned out to be great!

This book describes a everyday life for a woman in the Middle East. It tells about how controlled their lives are and how little women is respected. It tells how women can’t walk on the street alone, can’t drive a car and how illegial it is to have sex before marriage – at least for women. This books both talks about statistics and laws but also about personal stories, which made me so angry to read. A thing I found confusing about this book was that it talked about a lot of different countries, so it has afterwards been hard for me to separate the countries in my head – I, however, thought it was important that they all were included.

Besides talking about the situation in the Middle East, Eltahawy also talks about what she thinks needs to be done to change it. She writes about demonstrations, laws, that needs to be changed and how much the rest of the world could affect the situation if we became more aware of it.

Mona Eltahawy was born in Egypt and grew up there as well as in Saudi Arabia. She now lives in the United States. As an egyptien Eltahawy has a personal relationship to what she’s writing about, which clearly stands out in the book. She also shares some personal stories and opinions, which makes the book even more interesting to read.

This book was all in all a really good book and I really recommend that everyone gets a copy and reads it. It might not be the genre you normally read, but it is worth itand this topic deserves more attention! You should, however, be very aware of the fact that this is an adult book and it contains some really really tough stories, which you need to keep in mind before starting this book.

That was all for now, I hope you enjoyed! 🙂

xoxo,

Fiona

 

 instagram // goodreads // twitter //

Danish version

Skærmbillede 2016-06-24 kl. 18.52.06


Jomfruhinder og hijab: Hvorfor Mellemøster har brug for en seksuel revolution
af Mona Eltahawy

Udgivet på dansk af People’sPress
Oversat af Marie Kopp

Genre: Faglitteratur, feminisme, voksenbog

Vurdering: 4/5 stjerner

saxo // arnold busck

Tusind tak til People’sPress for at sende mig denne bog!

ANMELDELSE

Da jeg startede denne bog, havde jeg ingen anelse, om hvad jeg var på vej ind i. Jeg tænkte, at jeg da godt vidste, at kvinder i Mellemøsten ikke har det super fedt, men hvorfor behøvede jeg en hel bog om det? Det viste sig, at det behøvede jeg i den grad. Jeg er dybt chokeret over denne bogs historier, og den har efterladt mig med en voldsom vrede på vegne af de kvinder, der bor i Mellemøsten. Efter at have læst denne bog, mener jeg, at alle bør være mere opmærksomme på diskriminationen af kvinder i Mellemøsten, og det er også det budskab denne bog bringer. Mona har gjort et fantstisk arbejde med denne bog, og jeg er meget glad for at jeg besluttede mig for at læse den.

Dette var det første faglitteratur jeg har læst frivilligt i meget lang tid, og også den første voksenbog jeg har læst i et par måneder. Da jeg begyndte bogen var jeg derfor lidt usikker på, hvor meget jeg ville kunne lide den. Det var en tung bog at læse, men på grund af dens længde (200 sider) var den helt fint at overkomme.

“Jeg kan ikke tage nogen beslutninger selv, og jeg har ingen magt over noget.” (side 94)

Denne bog beskriver livet for en kvinde i Mellemøsten. Den fortæller om, hvor kontrolleret det er, og hvor lidt de bliver respekteret. Den fortæller om, hvordan kvinder ikke må gå alene på gaderne, køre bil, og hvor strafbart det er at have haft sex før ægteskab – for kvinderne. Bogen fortæller både om tal og love fra forskellige lande, men også om mange personlige historier, som gjorde en så vred at læse. En ting, der var lidt forvirrende nogle gange, var at der blev skrevet om en masse forskellige lande hele tiden, så det er efterfølgende meget svært at adskille dem fra hinanden.

Udover at fortælle om hele situationen i Mellemøsten, kommer Eltahawy også meget ind på, hvad hun mener, der skal gøres ved det. Hun skriver om demonstrationer, love, som skal ændres, og hvor meget udlandet kunne påvirke, hvis de blev mere opmærksomme på sagen.

Mona Eltahawy er født i Eygpten og opvokset der samt i Saudi-Arabien, hun bor nu i USA. Som Egypter har Mona et meget personligt forhold til det hun skriver om, hvilket står tydeligt frem i bogen. Hun deler også personlige historier, hvilket giver bogen en hvis kant og gør den meget mere interessant at læse.

Alt i alt var det en utrolig god bog, og jeg anbefaler virkelig at alle får en kopi og læser den. Måske er det ikke lige den genre I normalt læser, men den er det værd – dette emne fortjener mere opmærksomhed! Man skal dog være opmærksom på at dette virkelig er en voksenbog, og den indeholder nogle virkelig hårde historier, så det skal mange virkelig være klar på, når man begynder den.

Det var alt for nu, jeg håber I nød denne anmeldelse – min første på dansk! 🙂

kram,

Fiona

 instagram // goodreads // twitter //

 

One thought on “HEADSCARVES AND HYMENS: WHY THE MIDDLE EAST NEEDS A SEXUAL REVOLUTION BY MONA ELTAHAWY | a book review

Leave a Reply

