THE PERFECT SUMMER READ: Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson | a book review

Skærmbillede 2016-06-19 kl. 19.59.43.png

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson
Publisher: Simon and Schuster, 2014

Genre: Contemporary, Young Adult

Rating: 5/5 stars

book depository // amazon

Summary

It was Sloane who yanked Emily out of her shell and made life 100% interesting. But right before what should have been the most epic summer, Sloane just…disappears. All she leaves behind is a to-do list.

On it, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that Emily would normally never try. But what if they could bring her best friend back?

Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough.

Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not?

Kiss a stranger? Um…

Emily now has this unexpected summer, and the help of Frank Porter (totally unexpected), to check things off Sloane’s list. Who knows what she’ll find?

Go skinny-dipping? Wait…what?

REVIEW

This book was so adorable and sweet and cute and I don’t even know where to start. So much hype has been surrounding this book, so when I was in the mood for a contemporary I picked it up – it didn’t dissapoint!!

The protagonist, Emily, was probably my favorite part of this story, she was so relatable and realistic. We see a lot of brave, outgoing protagonists in YA – Emily is the excact opposite. She is really shy, and she is used to let her best friend, Sloane, get all the spotlight. When Sloane all of a sudden dissapears, Emily is pushed out of her comfortzone because she now has to do everything by herself. She goes through the biggest character development in this book, which I loved to see.

“I don’t think you have to do something so big to be brave. And it’s the little things that are harder anyway.”

Even though Sloane isn’t in this book very much she plays a gigantic role. Sloane is the excact opposit of Emily, she is outgoing and love to talk and do crazy things. I really enjoyed reading the flashbacks and seeing her and Emily together and I think she is a really nice friend to Emily. Sloane respects that Emily is shy and careful but she still gives her a small push sometimes. A great example to that is the list that she leaves Emily. It was so much fun to watch Emily do all of the things on the list and see her develop from doing them.

Then we have Frank Porter, the most adorable boy in the history of books. He is the sweetest thing ever and I loved seeing his and Emily’s relationship develop. He always believes in her and he helps her push herself to do more things on the list from Sloane.

“I know things might not work, and I know it’s scary, but the things that are worth it are. It feels right.”

The sidecharacters, Dawn, Collins and Emily’s parents and brother, were all so great and well developed characters.

This was my first Morgan Matson book (I know!!) and I really liked both the writing and the pace of this book. It took around 100 pages before I was really attached and hooked on the story, but after that the story just kept getting better. It was a really long contemporary (450 pages!) but it made room for so much cuteness and I was all about that!!

This books was so great, it saved me from a book hangover and it has made me in the mood for so many more contemporaries. It was both a lighearted romance book with also a deeper content. It’s 5 stars from me! It is the perfect summer read, so if you haven’t read it yet read it this summer you won’t regret it.

Have any of you guys read this book? Let me kow what you thought!

xoxo,

Fiona

 instagram // goodreads // twitter //

14 thoughts on “THE PERFECT SUMMER READ: Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson | a book review

  1. Kayla @kdrewkthebookworm says:

    I LOVED this book. I agree, there are way too many brave characters in YA books, and Emily is a great example of a more realistic character! I know it was 450 pages long, but I was SO mesmerized in it that I finished in 2 days flat😊. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. zoe2600 says:

    Omg, I read this a month or so back, it is such a good book, I would have reviewed it but I read it a while ago and I’m only reviewing the ones that I have recently read or re-read as it may be. I found parts of the book totally unexpected and it is a total rollercoaster, I’m glad you enjoyed it as much as I did 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

