THE HIDDEN ORACLE BY RICK RIORDAN | a book review

Skærmbillede 2016-06-11 kl. 12.57.07

The Hidden Oracle (The Trials of Apollo #1) by Rick Riordan
Publisher: Disney Hyperion, May 2016
Genre: Fantasy, Middle Grade
Rating: 4/5

Summary

How do you punish an immortal?

 By making him human.

After angering his father Zeus, the god Apollo is cast down from Olympus. Weak and disorientated, he lands in New York City as a regular teenage boy. Now, without his godly powers, the four-thousand-year-old deity must learn to survive in the modern world until he can somehow find a way to regain Zeus’s favour.

But Apollo has many enemies – gods, monsters and mortals who would love to see the former Olympian permanently destroyed. Apollo needs help, and he can think of only one place to go . . . an enclave of modern demigods known as Camp Half-Blood.

REVIEW

This book is very funny, it had a great plot and some interesting and diverse characters.

Apollo was definitly my favorite part of this book. He was such a refreshing new character that was amazingly funny and extremely selfish. I loved wacthing him develop as a human and slowly changing his vision on demigods. He literally made me laugh out loud at times, which rarely happens for me while reading.
Another aspect of his character I am so happy Rick included is his sexuality. Apollo is bisexual but he just talks about it as it is the most natural thing in the world.

Then we have Meg, Apollo’s fabulous sidekick.  She is so kick butt and I love how much she impresses Apollo. Her background is very interesting, we only get a little bit of it so I am exciting to learn more in later books.

The haiku poems in the beginning of every chapter is such a funny part too, and a new concept Rick is bringing into his books.

This book is geniuly amazing, the world, the language. This is, however,the 11th book set in Camp Half-Blood. All books are quite similar, they build on a simialr concept. I love them all very much, but I can’t help but think that this needs to stop.

If this was the first book Rick had ever written it would have been a big 5-star read for me, but I think Rick is repeating himself too much. I want to make a whole discussion post on this topic beacuse Rick is surdently not the only author with a lot of series in the same world.

This book refers to a lot of the character in both Percy Jackson and the Olympians-series and Heroes of Olympus so I would definitly say it is a must to read them before hand. This book works out just well by its own but it spoils the other and they are amazing so read those first.

I have debating myself a lot on how to rate this book. I have chosen to rate it 4 because it is, as said, very good and entertaining book but it is so similar and there also were some points where I lost some of my interest in the story. Have you guys read it? – I would love to hear your thoughts!

xoxo,

Fiona

instagram // goodreads //

 

 

5 thoughts on “THE HIDDEN ORACLE BY RICK RIORDAN | a book review

Leave a Reply

