UNPOPULAR OPINIONS BOOK TAG

This was actually one of the first posts I ever wrote, but I never got around to post it because I did not want one of my first posts to be about what I dislike, but now I am ready to share! Please do not be offended by any of my opinions, obviously a lot of people disagree with what I mean since this is my unpopular opinions. 🙂

1. A Popular Book or series that you didn’t like.
Ok so I have surprisingly many for this. I’m going to count down from least popular to most popular.

  • I read all three books in the Hex Hall-trilogy in less than five days, but they were not any good at all. I enjoyed the first one a little bit but the rest was just…
  • I read two books in the Uglies series and I just didn’t enjoy them… I didn’t like the concept.
  • The whole concept in the The Selection-series is honestly just silly. I started them because I had heard about them, but I honestly thought everyone felt the same way as I. They didn’t.
  • The most popular book I really didn’t enjoy was Divergent. I pushed through and read all of this book but it was just too slow and I did not enjoy reading it. I never DNF book but if I was a person who did I would have DNF’ed this. It dragged too much and it was just boring.. I am sorry, I know you all love this book but I really saw it as a bad version of The Hunger Games.

2. A Popular Book or series that every one else seems to hate but you love.
Ok so everyone seems to hate The Maze Runner and even though I haven’t continued on with the series and I’m not planning to ever do that, I really did enjoy the first book in this series.

3. A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (warn ppl for spoilers) OR an OTP that you don’t like.
I do not enjoy the OTP in Daughter of Smoke and Bone. Karou and Akiva just annoyed me honestly. I just don’t like either of them very much and the part of the story from the past just made it so stupid for me. I think I’m going to continue the series anyway.

4. A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for.
I don’t read a lotSci-Fi. It’s not because, I don’t enjoy it I just read Fantasy mostly I guess – but I want to read more!

5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.
I had trouble choosing this but I finally settled on Jace. I do like him but I also find him really annoying.

6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.
Ok, so I have only read one book by this author, but I really didn’t like it at all. This book was American Gods by Neil Gaiman. It was a very big book – 600 pages – and I ended up giving it one star on Goodreads. I’m going to need a lot of convincing to ever read another book by Neil Gaiman.

7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)
As you can see in my first question there is a lot of dystopian books I don’t like. Maybe I’m not a fan of the genre, even though I love The Hunger Games and An Ember in the Ashes.   I just find a lot of the societies are very similar. Like there are a lot of societies where the population is divided into groups (Divergent, THG, Selection). I don’t know if you can call it a trope but I am just so tired of cliche dystopian books…

8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.
I am never going to read Vampire Academy. First of all it just sounds like Twilight 2.0. Maybe it’s not but a) I don’t want to read about vampires and b) I have heard bad things from people whom opinions I trust.

9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefere than the book?
My first thought is definitely The Vampire Diaries. I really enjoyed this show, the should have stopped it some seasons ago but the first ones where amazing. I tried to read the books because of the show but I never ended up liking them.

I hope you enjoyed 🙂 Which popular book did you dislike?

xoxo,

Fiona

// instagram // goodreads //

22 thoughts on “UNPOPULAR OPINIONS BOOK TAG

  1. Booksfrendzy says:

    You must know of the movie Coraline? The girl and the mother with the button eyes? The movie was based on Neil Gaiman book of the same name. I loved the movie and quite enjoyed the book. Maybe you’ll like it? Nice answers!! 😀

    I disliked Eleanor and Park so bad and it always struck me as strange when people said they liked it a lot. And then I realised I’m in the minority of people that disliked it heheh and that pretty much everyone else loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • bookwormwholived says:

      Haha I remember you talking about it when we read Attachments together – I really enjoyed E&P though..
      I must honestly say that I haven’t watched the movie but only heard a lot about it. Maybe I’ll give it a try someday hehe

      Liked by 1 person

      • Booksfrendzy says:

        I’m not sure about Landline but the plotline when I first saw it was very interesting! I was actually going to pick it up first out of all the others but I chose E&P and left it for another time. I’m not a huge fan of Rainbow Rowell story and writing so Idk when I’ll read it. Geez I need to sleep. It’s 5am here and it’s the weekend but still sleep is good 🙂 Good night from Australia 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. alilovesbooks says:

    I actually really liked the Vampire Diaries books once I got past the first few. Unfortunately though at around book 7 or 8 someone else started ghost writing them and they weren’t the same.

    My popular book that I don’t like is Looking for Alaska. It actually put me off reading any other John Green.

    Like

    • bookwormwholived says:

      I only got half way through the second book, but I did really enjoy Stefans story from the 1600 or whatever time it was – even though I read some of it last year and didnt anymore.
      Yeah well I enjoyed Looking for Alaska, but John Greens book are very similar so if you didnt like that one I wouldnt recommend any of the others…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. icebreaker694 says:

    I also really don’t like sci-fi very much. I tried to read Unremembered, but the whole playing around with DNA and genetics freaked me out somewhat.
    I really, really, really hate vampires but I was recommend to read Vampire Academy and it wasn’t so bad. I still hate vampires but most books aren’t too bad, except Twilight- I’ll never read that.
    Great post, I liked that we had some things in common, I’m no longer alone in the world yay! 😀

    Like

    • bookwormwholived says:

      Omg I love to agree in disliking things haha. 😀
      Exactly Sci-Fi is a bit freaky in that way… and it easily gets to complicated i feel like.
      So would you recommend VA then? and yeah haha I loved vampires when I was 11 lol.

      Liked by 1 person

      • icebreaker694 says:

        I would recommend it as a starter book. And as for the sci-fi thing, IKR they can be creepy at times and hard to read. I keep wondering if These Broken Stars is any good but I can’t bring myself to read it just yet… Now back to vampires (I get off topic a lot haha) VA is a really good book, but I like Bloodlines a little more. So yeah, I like all these book debates in comments, they’re fun to do 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • bookwormwholived says:

        Yeah me too! But if I pick up a Sci-Fi book I think I’ll go for Illuminae it is very popular right now. I’m reading Sashas Zenith soon though, so thats going to be exciting how I feel about that.
        Ok I feel like it is a series you have to read a couple of books of to actually enjoy it…

        Liked by 1 person

  4. onceuponabookshelfblog says:

    I’m gonna have to agree with you for the Maze Runner. Idk why a lot of ppl don’t really like but I personally enjoyed it. The concept was intriguing. I mean, who would wanna be stuck in a crazy maze with grievers? 😱😱😱 and I loved the characters too. especially Minho. His sarcasm was awesome lol

    Liked by 1 person

  5. bookishsmaug says:

    I love unpopular opinions! 😀 I definitely agree with The Divergent series. I thought the concept of The Selection was just tedious, but I finished the whole series in two weeks (sue me but it was really quite interesting 😆 I ended up really liking it!)

    Like

  6. zoe2600 says:

    I read the uglies books as well, I say that, I only read the first, they are so bad and confusing, but I have to say I never half finish a book, unless it is so really bad that I don’t get past the first couple chapters, I have only ever not read the whole of a couple of books, in all my 15 years, being an avid reader since about 5, reading through the whole of the higher section in my primary school 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

