A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES BY SARAH J. MAAS | book review

IMG_2352

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publisher, May 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, New Adult, Retelling, Romance

Rating: 4.5/5 stars
Goodreads review

Summary

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it… or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever. (source)

Review

Due to all the hype around A Court of Thorns and Roses as well as Sarah J. Maas I had very high expectations for this book and I must say that they did not disappoint.

This was my first fairytale retelling and I really liked that aspect of the story. I must be honest and say that the promise of this book did not interest me very much. I liked that it was a fairytale retelling but I thought the whole idea about fairies sounded kind of lame – it was not. 

I absolutely loved the world in this book. The world building was done so well, and I really love how complex the world is. It is truly magical.

The whole plot was also done so well. I never guessed any of the things that happened throughout this book and my mind was blown by the last page. It was not, however, until halfway through the book that the story really began picking up and I became hooked on the story, which was what made me give this book half a star less.

Feyre, our mainlead, is a very intersting character that I enjoyed reading from. She is stuck in a very difficult situation when the book starts and I found that so frustrating to read about. I really liked her as a person even thogh she was a bit annoying to read from at times.

Tamlin, the love interest, is very charming and I really like him but I am not head over heals about him. I like him but I do not love him. My favorite character though was definitely Lucien. He was so funny and snarky and I loved his sarcastic comments.

I am really looking forward to start A Court of Mist and Fury tonight and later the Throne of Glass series, I understand the Maas hype now!

I hoped you enjoyed my first review on this blog,  let me know in the comments if you have read this book and what your feels on it where! – and if you have any fairytale retelling recommendation, because I really want to get into that genre!

xoxo,

Fiona

// instagram // goodreads //

 

12 thoughts on “A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES BY SARAH J. MAAS | book review

Leave a Reply

